Walking

“Do all things without grumbling or disputing.” ~Philipians 2:14

Today I had to take care of some business downtown. Much to my dismay, places to park were pretty much nonexistent. 

I ended up having to park twenty minutes away from my destination. I was appalled to say the least and my attitude was not admirable 

How dare I have to walk so far I fumed as I made my way to the government center. I bemoaned the irony of new places being built on what used to be parking lots. 

Poor me. 

​  
But on the way back, a few things dawned on me. 

1.) I was thankful to have the ability to walk to where I needed. 

2.) I had a vehicle that made it possible for me to walk a relatively short distance. 

3.) The weather was nice. 

4. I was able to see downtown through the eyes of a pedestrian. 

5.) I was getting exercise for the day. 

Yes, I was hot and sweaty by the time I made it back to my truck. However, once I got my attitude together, I actually enjoyed it. 


I stopped and had breakfast at one of my favorite spots. 

Checked out a new bakery.


Saw the new transit center named after the late Julia Carson. 

Admired the artwork and architecture and met some friendly strangers. 

And before I knew it, I was back to where I started.  

It just goes to show we can be thankful in all things as long as we approach it with the right attitude. 

2 thoughts on “Walking

  1. The post “Walking” was very genuine and interesting. Please always cite your own experiences whenever preaching the good news. I’m proud to see you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

