RIP

“And because of his glory and excellence, He has given us great and precious promises. ” ~2 Peter 1:4

This morning I woke up with my mother on my mind and felt heavy hearted. Coincidently,  Mother’s Day is in four days. 

However, before I could become too consumed with gloom, God put the thought RIP in my mind. 

Most of us are aware that RIP stands for “rest in peace” and is an abbreviation for the Latin phrase Requiescat in pace. 

But today God graciously gave me a new meaning and replaced rest in peace with rest in promise. Thus there is no reason to be sad when I can infinitely hope in the Lord. 

The Bible says that “the dead know nothing” Ecclesiates 9:6  which is true. But our omniscient, unchanging, constant God “cannot lie” and is “the same yesterday, today, and forever” Hebrews 13:8. With this knowledge we can be assured that even in death, His promises remain the same for us. Hallelujah! This revelation brought so much joy to my heart I almost shouted! 

Psalm 37:25 says “…Yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken” thus death has “no sting” or victory in the face of God and His word which can never return void. 

May my precious mother continue to RIP until “the Lord Himself comes down from heaven!” ~1 Thessalonians 4:16

3 thoughts on “RIP

  1. I absolutely needed this…resting in the promise of God takes away the anguish of losing my beloved mom. It makes me think of her resting peacefully until we meet again in glory! I want to repost this to help me through if I begin to slide back into sadness! God is good and this confirmation between two sisters who love the Lord is powerful! We met for a reason and I am glad about it…BlessingsšŸŒŸšŸ™šŸ½šŸŒŸ

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amen and amen! I’m so glad. It was such a powerful, happy, comforting thought for me this morning and I’m thankful that it has encouraged you, my sister in Christ because that what’s it’s all about. Feel free to repost. Agreed and likewise!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: RIP – wandasncredible

Leave a Reply

