Testimony Tuesday 

And this is the confidence that we have toward him, that if we ask anything according to his will he hears us. And if we know that he hears us in whatever we ask, we know that we have the requests that we have asked of him. ~1 John 5:14-15

God does not disappoint because I have a testimony to His goodness in the 11th hour. Tonight I attended the graduation at the school where I work. After the ceremony, one of my students asked me to wait a moment because he had something to show me. I had no idea what to expect.   

He presented me with a large white envelope. I opened it and the contents took a minute for me to process. I had forgotten all about it as I have been dealing with some personal issues as of late. It was an acceptance package from ISU. 

I immediately broke into tears at the goodness of the Lord. I had prayed for this and God saw fit to say yes even the odds were stacked against him in the eyes of man.  

My student did not do well on the ACT or the SAT. In fact, he only received a composite score of 9 his second time taking the ACT. He needed a minimum score of 13. Nor did he pass the ECA which is the graduation qualifying exam in our state. 

I decided to contact ISU and speak with someone in Admissions. On May 8th, I wrote a letter on his behalf and helped him pen a personal statement. Both would be presented to the ISU Review Board. I prayed and we waited. In the meanwhile he received a waiver for the ECA. 

Seeing that letter was a perfect way to end the night. However, I can’t take credit for this as I was only used by God to carry out His will. ALL the glory goes to Him! He has been showing me so much faithfulness, favor, and mercy that it is overwhelming at times. But I’m hear to scream from the mountain top that the goodness of the Lord is real! 

  

Leave a Reply

