Thankful Thursday

“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” Thessalonians 5:18 Today I didn’t wake up with the best attitude. I’m feeling grumpy and tired. I really don’t want to be bothered and I’d much rather be at home in the bed. I have a lot to do and a little time in which to get it all done. Not to mention, I feel a cold coming on and I don’t have the luxury of being sick. My mind is also filled with upcoming events and wondering about their outcomes. When I feel this way, my patience is threadbare and my disposition aloof. However, I am working on not allowing my moods to set the tone for the day. We are to “enter His gates with thanksgiving, and His courts with praise, Give thanks to Him; bless His name” regardless of what is going on in our lives. Because the truth is, God is good in the best and worst moments of our futile existence. Sometimes we are under the false assumption they we are the only ones with problems. No one else has aches and pains. No one else is suffering. No one else has financial struggles. No one else has wayward kids or an unfaithful spouse. Even if we put self to the side, there is still a mean world out there ready give us even more to stress about. I’ll admit, it’s easy to get preoccupied with the crazy atmosphere in which we live; where truth is often stranger than fiction. Plus, we have other things demanding our attention. We have bills to pay, chores to complete, kids to take care of, jobs to work, people to see, and many, many more things to do. Thus, we seldom take the time to stop, breathe, and simply thank God for the daily goodness He provides. With all the negativity floating about, it can be hard to see the positives, but I’m going to try.  It has turned into a little game I like to play with myself. But that’s why it is even more vital that we stay steeped in the Word of God. It provides needed comfort and reasons to be thankful. Without His Word, our hearts become hardened. Thursdays on the blog will be dedicated to just that-thankfulness. Here is what I am feeling grateful about today:

  • I woke up this morning and made it to work in one piece and on time
  • I was able to give my oldest son lunch money
  • Students excitedly presenting their country research projects
  •  I was able to help a coworker this morning
  • Warm boots and coat for the frigid weather
  • My smart phone because it helps me stay organized
  • The cutest pair of cute chinos that I got from Wal-Mart for $5!
  • Texting with a friend
  • Refrigerators and microwaves

Leave a Reply

